Insanity

When we were making our decision on whether or not to put Levi on steroids I asked myself a few questions.  I weighed the side effects against the benefits. Typical side effects include but are not limited to cataracts, hypertension, behavioral changes, and excessive weight gain.  Now I know with a terminal disease you may be asking why I am so concerned about side effects.  My answer is this; if you say my child only has a few years to live his life then why would I make it hell on earth for him?  If he’s gonna be in a wheelchair eventually even after using steroids then why would I make him endure these side effects as well as handle the disease itself? The only thing that made sense to me was to CHOOSE ANOTHER TREATMENT.  That’s when we ran into another problem. There were no other treatments approved to treat DMD.  With all the money spent by pharmaceutical companies to fund research I was floored that they are still using steroid treatment as the only answer.  So began my search for a better answer. 

As I said in my first post I found Dr. Rhodes by his YouTube videos.  I was amazed at first, then skeptical, then hopeful.  Weighing the pros and cons with this treatment was so much easier. There were no side effects to consider. The only obstacle was the cost.  The machine was $4500 and we would have to travel to Texas to get the machine.  Of course I was worried that it might not work but I couldn’t live day to day being able to look at myself in the mirror if I didn’t try it. 

So I scheduled Levi’s appointment and we drove 12 hours down to Texas for our visit.  After the first day of treatments we noticed a change in Levi and it was all worth it. Every day we see something new about him.  Some things he hasn’t been able to do in months while other things he has NEVER done before. I know now that I made the right decision. This machine has almost taken Levi back in time and it’s only been a little over a week! Imagine the results we will see in a few months. 

This brings me to a quote that Dr. Rhodes said to me at our first visit on June 4th. 

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”
-Albert Einstein

That quote really stuck with me.  Insanity is what these doctors are asking us to do. They are asking us to give our children the same drug that has been used for years to treat this disease instead of trying to give us other options.  If it kept them out of a wheelchair for years and improved their quality of life enough to matter then I would say we should continue to use it but it doesn’t.  Compare it to having a cold.  If one cold medicine makes you feel worse and also gives you a headache and nosebleeds on top of your other symptoms then it doesn’t seem worth it.  I know that Levi is only 7 and I realize that he may still end up in a wheelchair one day. I’m not saying that VECTTOR is a cure.  What I am saying is that it is NATURAL.  It has no side effects and yet it isn’t FDA approved?  People aren’t lined up to fund Dr. Rhodes’ clinical trials?  It just doesn’t make any sense to me.  You would think the big pharma companies would be jumping on treatment with no side effects, right?  Wrong.  Patients who are well don’t bring in the money.  If you cure the disease then these huge companies lose a lot of money.  I’m not saying that all doctors are bad by any means.  I am only stating the obvious…MONEY talks. There isn’t enough money in a machine that repairs things that they already have pills for.  Those pills conveniently cause other problems and then you are dishing out more and more money for symptoms you only got because of their drugs.  Even our neurologist talked about how VECTTOR was a such a big investment and I should make my decision very carefully.  I appreciate her concern but is a $4500 once really a huge investment?  Steroids would cost way more in his lifetime and I already know the cons outweigh the pros.  I may sound like a conspiracy theorist so call me what you will but you cannot change my mind on the way I see this situation.  If it was your child you may be singing the same song as me. 

I started this blog to educate people about the VECTTOR treatment and to spread the word to as many people as possible.  This machine is working for my child and I have seen it work for others as well.  If you can choose a natural treatment over harsh drugs you should have that option. I shouldn’t have had to dig on the internet to find this.  It should be readily available at clinics around the world.  We have to do better for our children and push our doctors to strive for better treatments.  Quality of life should be at the top of the list not just for us but let’s hold our doctors accountable.  Make sure they do their job and treat the patients.  Did they become a doctor for the perks from drug companies or did they become one to heal people?  Don’t be afraid to hold them to a higher standard.  If they can’t walk the walk and help you find the right treatment (not just the approved treatment) then you should take your child to someone who gives a damn. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Insanity

  1. I was delighted to read your blog about Dr. Rhodes and VECTTOR. I have known Doc since 2001. He successfully treated two members of my family and me for chronic pain. I was so grateful to him that I put together a book about his treatments so that I could let others know about him. In the course of gathering patient stories, I witnessed all kinds of what seemed like miracle outcomes for people with chronic neurological conditions that no other doctors had been able to treat. I have never ceased to be amazed at what Doc has been able to do to help hopeless patients. When he began treating DMD patients, I stopped by the clinic and interviewed patients and the parents of patients and was astounded at the immediate, early regeneration of their muscles that I saw with my own eyes. I would like to stay in touch with you, if I may. I hope to have something in the works before too long that could benefit from your experience and enthusiasm.

    Hope to hear from you.

    Patricia Boeckman

Leave a Reply

